Two Posts Today – couldn’t resist this one…

Ok, a little preface to this. I have a seventeen year old daughter, see pic below… Her father and I have been split up since she was a baby. I raised her on my own and he came back into her life during the terrible teen stage to make an already hairy scary time that much more pleasing … but anyways… I have had to bite my tongue on many occasions over the years… dont want to say too much about him or what he is like to her. I wanted her to form her own opinion and relationship with him. Needless to say, it has been really TOUGH sometimes, but I’ve been pretty good… and then I get this text this morning from my baby girl:

“How did you not beat the crap out of my dad when you were with him? I’m getting pretty close to wanting to”.

Hm, what do you think? I think she’s figured him out! Poor kid. Will keep you posted. =)

1 Comment

  1. Autumn Storm said,

    October 21, 2007 at 8:56 am

    So many would have been tempted to influence their child, what a good mother you are to allow her to form her own opinions wholly independently. I have a daughter, 9 years old, that I have raised since she was a baby, a real jerk as a father and I would like to think I would have done the same, but since the family knew him, she knew from just about as soon as she could talk how much they hate him, and in explaining to her why, she couldn’t help but learn/understand there were reasons. Never easy, just wanted to say hats off to you.


Leave a Reply

