i cant fucking sleep

For starters, I seem to be avoiding my bedroom.

Which is stupid. I have a lovely bedroom.

I live in a little attic apartment of an old heritage home. My bedroom is a loft. It is quite cozy with its slanted walls and the charming brick chimney (that I really wish a flatscreen was hanging from). I can hear the ponds in my backyard from my bedroom window. Here is a picture of the ponds and a little plug for my landlord’s business. As you can see my backyard is beautiful!


Lately, instead of climbing up the little wooden stairs to my haven, I lay on my couch at night and toss and turn and think.

I am exhausted.

The things I think about in the middle of the night have no relation at all to my thoughts or worries during the day.

When I get up, walk across the bridge in the morning, visit the ocean and look at the beautiful Vancouver skyline I kick myself for allowing those worries to even enter my head and ruin a good night’s sleep.

Because really. Life is good.

Last night I went out with my friend Jen. We went for a walk in our neighbourhood, had a beer at the Five Point (the boys from my house had the same idea too!) caught up and had a great evening. Lots of laughs. No worries. Right?

I get home, feeling tired and ready for sleep.

I plop down on the couch.

In my comfiest summer p.j.s (ha, liar, I was naked!)

I close my eyes and suddenly,

I am AWAKE.

Wide awake.

No amount of anything could have put me to sleep (read whatever you want into that comment).

Today – I am a walking zombie. Again.

I am looking forward to my little vacation … what better way to fall asleep than outdoors after playing in the sunshine all day?

Well, actually, I can think of a couple of ways …

9 Comments

  1. Sweet Cheeks said,

    July 27, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I can think of a couple ways too 😉
    Thanks for stopping by! I added you….:)

  2. Trée said,

    July 28, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    I was hoping you just got the order of the last two words for this post wrong and maybe add a comma between them too. 😉

    Thanks for your thoughts Kelly. Much appreciated. 🙂

  3. KellyNerd said,

    July 28, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    T: Well that would have been a more interesting post … =)

    thanks for stopping by…

    be back next thursday with tales from the camping trip!

  4. Trée said,

    July 29, 2007 at 6:31 am

    Have a great time Kelly. If you add a pic to your blogger profile I believe it will appear in comments. 🙂

  5. Tbone said,

    July 30, 2007 at 7:53 am

    five point hey…I have friends that practically live there…I am often there myself…maybe I will see you sometime!

  6. danny said,

    January 12, 2008 at 10:43 am

    smoke a joint my love

  7. turd said,

    March 2, 2010 at 3:17 am

    what the hell is this place

  8. krista said,

    June 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Can’t fucking sleep my boyfriend cheated on me.

  9. Kid neptune said,

    December 22, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    cant sleep got detained in uk then deported, then put in jail for 5 days to see if they wanted me in california, they didnt, want to get back to uk to all my frends , America sucks so bad after being in UK and Europe for ten years surfing and having fun, Now im stuck in florida, trash can of the south, Hit the lip today and a black tip shark ran into my board, I just thought, really???? cant go home, cant sllep, cant spell and cant get my passport , suicide again,


Leave a Reply

