this would be of some concern …

… if it wasn’t so damn funny sometimes.

The stress is eating away at my memory.

It is causing me to forget the craziest things – like simple words, or the movie I.JUST.SAW.

The stress is causing serious structural damage to my brain like termites in an old building.

And I am just not that old.

I forgot the word for ‘grabbed’ today.

I had lunch in the cafeteria of Chico’s new office.  They did not put mustard on the sandwiches, there were packets in a container to take to your table.

Back at the table Chico says: “did you get mustard?”

Me:  “yup, I bought some.”

Chico (smiling):  “bought some huh?”

Me:  “no, I mean, um, you know, not bought …”

Chico:  “grabbed, picked up…?”

Easier than searching my addled brain for the word … 

Me (standing my insane ground) “nope, I bought it.”

He wasn’t watching.  Prove I didn’t buy it!

I’m losing my mind, not my stubborness ..

6 Comments

  1. jlb said,

    October 16, 2007 at 9:40 am

    lol…i’ve been walking into rooms, and forgetting why i went into them…and making crazy amounts of lists ’cause i can’t remember anything i haven’t written down at least three times…
    jo

  2. Trée said,

    October 16, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Nerdy, welcome to my world. I’ve had this problem since I was a child and probably will always struggle with language and words that I knew yesterday but are gone today. I’m a cross-dominate, which could be the problem. Cross-dominates are people that should be, in my case, left handed, but are right handed. I could go into more detail, but the theory is, if I were left handed, my speech problems would go away. Something to do with the two hemispheres of the brain and what controls what and which one is dominate (the right in my case, which controls the left side of the body–which is why I should be left handed–and because I’m right handed, the theory is, this causes the speech problems and language problems in general. If you watch my videos or listen to my audios carefully, you will hear, just in a few places, and very subtle, a problem I’ve learned to accept and live with. I’m 44 now, and I don’t see it changing.

  3. Valley Girl said,

    October 17, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Awww… hun… I can totally relate. When I’m depressed I have the worst memory and have trouble stringing sentences together.

  4. Brenda said,

    October 17, 2007 at 7:14 am

    It’s our age. Must be, happens to me all the time. Our minds are on other things. Like running the world.
    Little things like language don’t matter as long as you can still communicate.
    And Chico was just being, well, cheeky.

  5. Keri said,

    October 17, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Well, you made me laugh! Way to stand by what you say! 🙂

  6. Autumn Storm said,

    October 18, 2007 at 2:34 am

    When I have some problem occupying my mind, I forget the simplest things that I wouldn’t otherwise.


Leave a Reply

