i know this is going to come as a shock to you all …

… I am a little sensitive. 

Ok, lie.

I am extremely sensitive.

Everytime some kind person points out this “flaw” in my personality I feel like I am failing the game of life.

I feel everything.  When you tell me your story, and it is sad, I picture it, feel it and will convey my emotions.  I dont have to try hard to understand your feelings, I instinctively feel them too.  I know this is an unpopular sentiment, but I even feel for Britney.

When you say something to me and it is negative, I do not brush it off, it sits with me, it hurts.  Even if the logical side of my brain can work out that you are wrong in your assumption or statement, I will still be affected.  I cannot change this.  I am 38 years old, if this hasn’t changed by now, it probably isn’t going to.

I was on my way out the door this afternoon and Ellen caught my eye.  I have a little crush on her.  Always have.  Anyways, she was discussing her crying spell on her show over the ‘Iggy’ fiasco.  She admitted that she is an emotional and sensitive person.  She straight out said that she feels and then expresses her emotions.

ELLEN.SAYS.THAT.IS.OK.

If it is good enough for Ellen, it is good enough for me.

7 Comments

  1. Autumn Storm said,

    October 24, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Not only good enough, but it’s an admirable trait, at least I admire it in others, can be a damned pain in myself sometimes. 🙂 Just shows that you have a great big heart, that you can sympathize with others, that you care about others, and those are definitely positive traits, and some one might wish one saw a little more of sometimes. Sometimes it hurts, things stay much longer than they perhaps should, but because you feel things so deeply, you are also capable of feeling the very peaks of joyousness and more importantly of appreciating it and that is a blessing and a half.

    Hugs to you, xo

  2. Trée said,

    October 24, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Oh Nerdy, the more you post about yourself, the more I think I could hug you till the twelfth of never. Let me say this, you sound to me, more normal than most of the people I read with blogs. You sound real. You sound honest. You sound like you care. And you sound like someone who knows how to give and receive love.

  3. sizzlesays said,

    October 24, 2007 at 3:21 am

    We’re not often appreciated for this trait but it is truly a beautiful thing…as long as you take care of yourself too. Because all that empathizing and all that compassion needs to also be shown back on YOU by YOU.

    So keep on being you! It’s wonderful.

  4. bighair said,

    October 24, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    i am also hyper-sensitive. sometimes i can bounce things off other times i can’t.
    it’s not a negative thing, u feel everything and emotions which is a good trait
    i always think of babies who react so quickly to outside stimuli it’s a reminder that us sensitve folk put some humanity back into this crazy world we live in.

  5. Beth said,

    October 24, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    I am incredibly senstive and always wear my heart on my sleeve. No one can cry in my presence without my crying, too. It makes me feel good that you can embrace that and not feel as if it’s a flaw. Ah, the lessons we learn from Ellen!

  6. Caroline said,

    October 25, 2007 at 3:25 am

    Wow..you have written what I have been trying to figure out about myself. I am just like you..I feel everything. e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g Sometimes this is a very good thing while other times it completely weighs me down. Thank you for writing this post.

  7. NerdGirl said,

    October 25, 2007 at 5:54 am

    Autumn and Tree: You two are the sweetest. I am lucky to have ‘met’ you both. Who knew encouraging words from afar could ever mean so much. =)

    Siz: I am working on it!

    BigHair: As usual, you make a good point.

    Beth: I haven’t embraced it entirely, I am saying it until I feel it … wish me luck!

    Caroline: Where have you been? Glad to see you back with a new blog! You are most welcome~thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

