a very big announcement

I am going back to work!

I am a legal assistant.  I love what I do.  I believe I am an organized assistant, I enjoy my work, I try to do what I can to keep my lawyer’s practice ticking along.  I work for a large firm for a lovely lawyer.  She is smart as a whip, incredibly hard working, fair and full of encouragement.

Anyways, Doc, counsellor and I came up with a back-to-work plan.  The short of end of it:

  • back to work December 3, part-time;
  • each week of December upping the hours/days of work; and
  • back to full-time after Christmas in January.

I emailed this plan to the H.R. manager at work and to the lawyer I work for.  I explained to them both in the email that I understood any plan had to work for the firm and for my lawyer’s practice.  I told them both I understood if my returning part-time would make it impossible to return to my desk and that I would be happy to be one of the floater assistants, if necessary.

I am one lucky girl.

The response to my plan was well received – and it sounds like I am wanted back exactly where I was.

*Sigh* of relief.

13 Comments

  1. Valley Girl said,

    November 10, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    That’s wonderful news! I’m so glad that you have the support you need at work as well.

  2. b said,

    November 10, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    That’s great! Congratulations! Sounds like you’ve been missed.

  3. Syd said,

    November 11, 2007 at 1:34 am

    That’s excellent!

  4. Trée said,

    November 11, 2007 at 5:17 am

    Great news Nerdy. 🙂

  5. Phil said,

    November 11, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Congrats! I’m sure they’ll be lucky to have you back!

  6. Autumn Storm said,

    November 11, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    That’s wonderful, absolutely thrilled for you! 😀

  7. jlb said,

    November 11, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    yeah! i’m excited for you!…:)

  8. alan said,

    November 11, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    From what I’ve seen of you here, I can’t imagine not wanting you back!

    Very happy for you!

    alan

  9. kittenroar5 said,

    November 11, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Excellent news. It’s a great month to return too. Congrats!

  10. sizzlesays said,

    November 12, 2007 at 1:29 am

    that is GREAT news!

  11. Kathryn said,

    November 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    that’s wonderful news, love, good to hear it 🙂

  12. katelin said,

    November 13, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    Congrats! That’s’ great news!

  13. prin said,

    November 14, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Yey! Good luck. 🙂


Leave a Reply

