wheatgrass tastes like ass

wheatgrass.jpg

In my quest for a full recovery I am making a concerted effort to change my eating habits and get back to a regular fitness routine.

This is not about my weight, I have lost weight, I just want to look and feel healthy.  Build back my muscle. 

Physical health = mental health.  Right?

I have trouble denying myself the things I shouldn’t eat so I am starting by cutting back on the sugar and adding some ‘good for me’ items.

This morning I got up, threw on the runners and did a power walk down Cambie Street, over the bridge, down Robson, in and out of some stores and all the way back.  All in all, over two and a half hours.  It felt good.  Its not back to the gym, but it is a start.

I passed a popular juice store on my way and ordered fresh squeezed orange juice (yummy) and a shot of wheatgrass.

Ass.  I keep burping up what tastes like dirt.  Tomorrow I am getting a McGriddle, no two ways about it.

14 Comments

  1. Valley Girl said,

    November 12, 2007 at 2:23 am

    I’m proud of you! My doctor told me the same, too (though I have yet to listen and am probably drinking myself into the grave).

    And you’re right. Its nasty.

  2. oneofhismoms said,

    November 12, 2007 at 4:19 am

    I always thought it tasted like stamp glue. But I do like the way it makes me feel after. If one can stomach it, it can actually cure a hangover. I say have another shot of ass-juice and use the mc griddle as a chaser. 🙂

  3. alan said,

    November 12, 2007 at 7:44 am

    If you drank that you deserve anything you want, my friend!

    I thought soy protein powder was bad…

    alan

  4. jlb said,

    November 12, 2007 at 8:50 am

    okay, now i just have to try it…like the kid who licks the metal pole in the winter, just to see of my tongue will stick to it…

  5. Kerstin said,

    November 12, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Nice! They always say good physical health is important to mental health. Of course, I don’t know who “they” are.

  6. b said,

    November 12, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Maybe wheat grass was just pushing it? I vote for the McGriddles..there is protein in there somewhere!

  7. kittenroar5 said,

    November 13, 2007 at 2:27 am

    I think wheat grass is a mental health no no. Try smoothies. 🙂

  8. Autumn Storm said,

    November 13, 2007 at 5:29 am

    😀 You deserve that McGriddle!

  9. Suzanne said,

    November 13, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    I can’t get past the smell of that wheat grass to get close enough to taste it. Yet you ingested it! I’m impressed.

    Skip the McGriddle.
    You’ll feel better without it. 🙂

  10. matt said,

    November 13, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    That drink looks like my coffee after I’m finished with it.

  11. katelin said,

    November 13, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Hey hey, power walking is a start. I have definitely had to remotivate myself to hit the gym, but it will be done!

    And wheat grass? Ew. Don’t think I’d be a fan. But at least you tried it.

  12. cheek said,

    November 14, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Try Vodka & Wheatgrass together……it’s called a Lawn mower….;0)

  13. NerdGirl said,

    November 16, 2007 at 2:59 am

    Hey all… I have not had wheatgrass since… cannot see it in my future EVER again!

  14. todd said,

    December 10, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Hey, wheatgrass shots can be pretty gross, but if you mix the wheatgrass with a glass of apple juice it actually tastes pretty good. Plus you can still get the benefits of it. Exercise is a great start though.


Leave a Reply

