a subject very close to my heart – and a question for my american readers

I tried to write something new about this subject.

Everything I think comes out as a rant right now, so I will wait.  Rants do not sound intelligent and are rarely listened to anyways.

I did however, write about Pickton in the past.

I thought it appropriate considering the recent ruling to repeat the post now.  Click here.

To my friendly American readers … is this story big down there?

If you get a chance to comment, please let me know if this important story gets coverage in the U.S.  Not only is it a horrific story about a very scary serial killer it has some serious social issues attached.

Thanks!

8 Comments

  1. December 11, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    There have been a few items in the newspaper, but not a whole lot of coverage (might be more on the tv news, which we don’t watch).

    What a bizarre story- yes, it’s always more of a story in the media when one middle-class surburban kid gets murdered than when a bunch of inner-city women do. We live in odd times.

  2. Autumn Storm said,

    December 12, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Excellent point made above in the comparison.
    Such a horrific story, and a distinct chill set down in my spine back when you told us about serving him one time years ago. No news here that I have seen of it, and I tell you for I was just yesterday wondering if anyone outside of the UK has run anything on the story of John Darwin and in comparison it is nothing. I did a quick search and found a ruling against prosecuting for another 20 murders is this the one you are talking about?

    Hope you have a good Wednesday, xo

  3. Trée said,

    December 12, 2007 at 6:15 am

    I’m not your best source since I rarely watch TV or read the papers, but I can’t say I’ve seen this story in the US.

  4. rainwolf said,

    December 12, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    I can’t say I’ve seen much in the mainstream news, but I read a lot of true crime stuff online and it’s been discussed quite a bit in blogs and on message boards.

  5. kittenroar5 said,

    December 12, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Me either. Scary stuff, though. Ick.

  6. Bre said,

    December 13, 2007 at 2:00 am

    I truly haven’t heard much about it at all – and that’s awfully scary!

  7. NerdGirl said,

    December 13, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Thanks everyone!!!!

  8. alan said,

    December 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    At work, my radio is always on NPR, so through it I had heard of this case; I’m not sure it would have been picked up by other media or not as I work such odd hours I never see the “evening news”.

    I do know that, as you say in your post from January, that these women deserved better!

    There is an ongoing one in Mexico where over 200 girls/women have disappeared…I’m not sure it will ever be closed!

    alan


Leave a Reply

