deadwood

We (Chico and I, who else?) found another hbo addiction.  Deadwood.

So far, we have rented and watched the first three discs of season one.

The story is good, the acting is great and the characters are rich and fun.  Debauchery, drugs, the oldest profession, shootouts, gambling, pretty girls, whisky and old saloons – all in a lawless society.

Good stuff.

Molly Parker is in it.  I like her.

mollyparker.jpg

A lot.

She plays Alma Garrett.

almagarret.jpg

A former society woman who marries a rich man at her financially challenged father’s request.  The husband moves her to Deadwood to prospect.  Not happy with her life she learns to cope with a budding addiction to laudanum.  Her husband dies (thankfully) and she stays in Deadwood to reinvent herself.

Fun fact:  Molly is from Maple Ridge, British Columbia – which is about thirty minutes from my hometown.

And then there is Calamity Jane.

calamityjane1.jpg 

A notorious boozer and brawler – and one of the most foul-mouthed frontierspeople of either sex.

When I saw her something told me underneath all that dirt, booze and potty mouth language she might just be a cutie.

Can’t see it?

Chico googled her for me and this is what she looks like in real life.

robin-weigert.jpg

Ha, I knew it, a hottie!

Can I spot a woman or what?

11 Comments

  1. bighair said,

    December 11, 2007 at 3:53 am

    i used to spend my summers in
    maple ridge
    molly parker is hot
    so is
    natalie maines
    she’s my favourite right now.

  2. Autumn Storm said,

    December 11, 2007 at 5:27 am

    I would never have guessed, what a difference!

    Happy day ahead, xo

  3. Airam said,

    December 11, 2007 at 5:51 am

    I’m so bad with television. I don’t watch nearly enough of it.

  4. NerdGirl said,

    December 11, 2007 at 5:54 am

    BigHair: molly yes. natalie NO.

    Autumn Storm: I’m good eh?? Pick em out no matter what they’re wearing!

    Airam: That my dear is the beauty of dvd!!! You can rent an entire season and watch it all at once on a rainy sunday!!!

    We have done Six Feet Under, Sopranos, Big Love, Rome, Lword, Dexter … they were all AWESOME !!!! As you can see, I watch way too much T.V.!!

  5. matt said,

    December 11, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Really?…I want to buy a tv dvd box set and just watch it. Thats so I don’t have to wait week to week and it gives me something to do at home. Any other suggestions?

  6. NerdGirl said,

    December 11, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Matt: see the suggestions above for the other series I have watched and LOVED!

  7. Kristine said,

    December 12, 2007 at 1:48 am

    I LOVE Deadwood, and followed it every week when it first debuted. I love Swearengen, and the fact that he is so ruthless!!!! And I totally love Trixie and Joanie! You have good taste!

  8. Electra Fied said,

    December 12, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Deadwood! All that colourful language, all that dirt and mud, all that good acting, LOVED it.

  9. Stephanie said,

    December 12, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Calamity Jane is hilarious!!! This show is awesome. So glad there is someone else who likes it also!

  10. alan said,

    December 12, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    I put all these away on tape before we cut HBO from our cable; someday we’ll sit down and watch them…

    If you ever run across something called “Lovejoy” check it out; you might get a treat!

    alan

  11. NerdGirl said,

    December 13, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Kristine: All the characters are rich. they have developed them all well…

    Electra Fied: It is just plain Gritty!

    Stephanie: I know! I just got a kitten and named her Calamity Jane – Janey for short!

    Alan: I will google Lovejoy right now … another good one is Big Love, check that one out.


Leave a Reply

