dream

You know the dreams where you are screaming and nothing comes out … there are people around but no one can actually hear you … or the dream where you are under water and you can see the surface and people on the land but you cannot quite break through to them?

That is what depression feels like.

I am so happy that I made the decision to get my new little baby … she is just there beside me no matter what I am doing.  All she wants from me is food and love.  As I am typing this she crawled up on the couch and plunked herself on my shoulder and crawled in front of me and curled around my neck.  She is so warm and soft.

12 Comments

  1. sizzlesays said,

    December 16, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    animals are wonderful healers.

  2. Trée said,

    December 16, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    I’ve got four dogs and a bazillion birds in my backyard with a few squirrels and one possum thrown in for good measure. And I’m healthy as a horse or at least as healthy as a healthy horse. Then again, there are those days I feel like I need to be taken out back and shot. 😀

  3. prin said,

    December 16, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Depression? 😦 I’m sorry. But I’m glad you have an animal. Animals rock. Congrats on the kitty. 🙂

  4. NerdGirl said,

    December 16, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    Sizzle: They sure are … so are blogs and blogging friends! =)

    T: Your place sounds amazing! You should send me some pics!

    ‘some days I feel like I need to be taken out back and shot’… familiar feeling, lol way of putting it though, thanks for the chuckle!

    I heard a quote on some silly show this morning that made me laugh too… a therapist was talking to his depressed patient and he says “If you wake up one morning and feel NO pain, then know you are dead” !!! lol. I know the downs are a part of life, but sometimes they feel like more. And sometimes, it all feels good, and as it should.

    Prin: Yup, been struggling for about four months. Yikes, what a trip! You blogging friends have helped though!

  5. Keri said,

    December 16, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Sounds like the perfect remedy. I’m so happy you have each other.

  6. December 16, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    I’ve had several friends with depression- it’s not a fun thing. Some of them found help through pills. Some people make rude comments about pills, but they do help people. I know you’ve written some about this, but I have not made it through all the past posts to see your thoughts about it, so take what I say or leave it, as is appropriate.

    As for “healthy as a horse”- well… we have a horse, and as anyone who has one will tell you, may you never be healthy as a horse. They may look big and strong, but there are all sorts of things that go wrong with them. I have files of vet bills to back this up. They’re delicate creatures, much more delicate than cats.

    And Janey is such a cute itty bitty kitty! Tell her our cats say “Meeoowrr!”

  7. Airam said,

    December 17, 2007 at 12:40 am

    I disappear for a few days and you have a Christmas template?! So cute! And what you’ve described is something I wish only happened in my dreams.

  8. Brenda said,

    December 17, 2007 at 7:57 am

    Kelly, I love her. She is soooo cute. When is the babyshower? lol

  9. alan said,

    December 17, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I very seldom have dreams I can remember; I think I am lucky that way. Though I would treasure some happy ones, the nightmares would have to balance them out, and life is enough of one sometimes!

    Thank you for brightening it!

    alan

  10. matt said,

    December 17, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    I hate those dreams. Will you come stay with me to comfort me?

  11. Autumn Storm said,

    December 17, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I bet she makes a good listener too. 🙂 Seems to me, you’ve made a good choice of travel companion.

  12. December 17, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    First – I like the festive nerdgirlspace. Very fun! Second, depression sucks. So I got meds. Third, sometimes even those don’t work. So I got a dog. And that, unfortunately, is a LOT more work than a little kitty. What was I THINKING?! Sooooo happy you didn’t get a little dog to stress out your life. I hope you feel better soon…..I know you will.


Leave a Reply

