mom do not read – christmas spoiler!

UPDATE!! 

I so totally rock.  Look what I found … an electric frying pan with griddle underneath!!!  On SALE at Sears!  How cool is that? 

electric-grill.jpg

 ************************************************

ORIGINAL POST:

Remember these?

electric-frying-pan.jpg

All the parents of our generation owned one.  It was popular back then.  Kind of like having a rice cooker now, just not remotely healthy!

You could plug it in, fill it half way up with oil or grease and voila – cook just about anything, including donuts – yes, one of my friend’s moms did this.

Anyways,  I haven’t cracked again, I have a reason for talking about plug in frying pans.

Remember at the beginning of December I was talking about the list mania that surrounds Christmas in our family?  One of the things on mom’s list was a new electric frying pan.  I thought this to be one of the easiest purchases on the list so told the fam not to get her one.  Turned out to be a total pain in the ass!

I do not drive, I live downtown and am lucky enough to live in a neighbourhood that has just about everything I need.

Except big box stores.

So, I got on the bus on Sunday, braved the crazy mall, watched everyone bitching and swearing and pushing and shoving … what is wrong with people anyways? … because Zellers would, of course, have an electric frying pan!  Probably an assortment!  Probably some on sale!

Not.

Fifty kinds of juicers, rice cookers, slow cookers, grills, microwaves… everything but a gosh darn electric frying pan.  I looked up and down every single kitchen appliance aisle.  I am sorry to say that I found the youngest clerk there to help me and I think I may have been a teensy bit snotty to the poor pimply faced boy when he told me ‘I dont think they make those no more’.  Right.  Sure.  (Perhaps there was an eyeroll here)

Thanks for the help.

By this time I had managed to find about two hundred dollars worth of other christmas crap goodies so I had to wait in the ginormous lineup anyways.  What fun it was listening the the fucking annoying charming children crying singing with glee around me while their lovely mothers flipped through magazines and pretended they couldnt hear them.  I get to the front of the line, paid for my goodies and lugged my bags to the Bay.

Where I was told ‘we only get those in on special promotions’, they dont really make them anymore.

WTF?

Now I even want one because they are so hard to find.

Back home I go.  Without the one thing I went out for in the first place.

I got home, set everything down and pulled out my trusty computer.  (I really need to name my little electronic friend – any ideas?) … And what do you know?  I found electric frying pans ON SALE (!) at Canadian Tire which is only about ten blocks from my home.  Score!  By the way, I can hear what you are all thinking … why didn’t NerdGirl just go there in the first place?  Argh.  I dont know.  Double Argh.

You know how once and awhile I toss around the dream of becoming a hermit?  When everything is right here at my fingertips and easier to find than going out of the house … It all just sounds to me like another tick in the ‘pro’ column making the ‘cons’ for becoming a hermit, way behind!

10 Comments

  1. sizzlesays said,

    December 18, 2007 at 3:14 am

    when considering if you should take up hermitude, don’t brave the holiday crowds. for such a “merry and bright” season it sure brings out some of the worst in people. just be glad you didn’t have a car to park- the parking lots are ripe with mean-spirited people!

    i remember electric frying pans…my mom used to burn bacon in them on sunday mornings. 😉

  2. prin said,

    December 18, 2007 at 4:37 am

    What’s bad about a rice cooker? Is it really worse than burning the rice every time? 😀

    Yey for Canadian tire. On a normal day, all they sell is junk, but in an emergency, they sell everything. lol

  3. Autumn Storm said,

    December 18, 2007 at 5:49 am

    LOL, hats off to you for braving the Christmas crowds for one and for not going back to the first store and giving them a piece of your mind for two.

  4. December 18, 2007 at 6:50 am

    On a week where I’m totally putting on the ‘hermit’ in me, I completely understand the desire!!! As for the frying pan… I probably would have tried to find it in the mall first too… it still seems like the sensible thing to do – head to the mall that is – when shopping for Christmas! And we made donuts in that thing when I was younger too… 😉

    p.s. Thank you so much for your kind, supportive comment(s)!!

  5. alan said,

    December 18, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Here you can find those at any K-Mart or Wal-Mart…

    Some guys I work with just chipped in and bought a double one for cooking at work.

    Dottie and I used to use our for cooking roasts; fill it half full of water, stir in an envelope of Lipton Onion Soup, and let it simmer ’til it falls apart. Now we do the same thing in a roaster in the oven…

    You are a very good daughter to go through all that instead of quitting!

    alan

  6. bighair said,

    December 18, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    the other day i was thinking
    as i looked in my cupboard
    maybe it’s time to get rid of the
    electric frying pan…

  7. jlb said,

    December 18, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    that brought back some childhood memories. i think you’re right – everyone’s family had one of electric frying pans. and yeah for canadian tire..
    as for the hermitude….i can totally relate….especially when it’s warm and cozy inside. and yucky and cold outside…
    j.

  8. December 18, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    I’d completely forgotten about those! Gee, if it plugs in and has to do with frying things in grease or oil, surely George Foreman makes one.

    I’m still putting off going out to the stores. Maybe tomorrow they won’t be too crowded…

  9. Kerstin said,

    December 18, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Electric frying pans are really excellent for making pot stickers. Just in case you were wondering. 😛

  10. kittenroar5 said,

    December 19, 2007 at 3:28 am

    I have one. Mostly it sits under the cabinet, but sometimes it cooks pancakes. It likes blueberry pancakes the best.


Leave a Reply

