january 1, 2008

tea.jpg

The first day of a brand new year.

I am at home in yesterday’s reindeer pajamas, drinking a cup of tea and cuddling with Calamity Jane.  I have some leftover spaghetti heating up and the channel changer in hand.

I cannot think of a more relaxing way to welcome this new year.  To let 2008 know how very much I have been looking forward to meeting her. 

2008 will be the year to take care of me.

To do things that make me feel healthy inside and out.

I will live in the moment.

I will try to figure out – in the moment – what will make me happy.

I will try to focus on the here and now by not dwelling on the past and and by trying not to worry about the future.

Here and now.

The here and now is what I have control over.  Here and now is where I want to live.  I do not want to miss one moment in the here and now by obsessing about things from the then and before and the upcoming and unknown.

So here’s to the here and now blogging friends.  May every moment in the here and now of 2008 bring you peace, love, happiness and a sense of wellbeing in your hearts.  I love you all.

So tell me.  How are you starting your year?

13 Comments

  1. sizzlesays said,

    January 2, 2008 at 12:43 am

    brunch with friends, snuggling on the couch with the monk marathon and the fella, and a home cooked dinner.

  2. Cheek said,

    January 2, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I spent a nice relaxing morning with you & Janey…….very nice,peaceful New Years Eve and Day…thank you Kell

  3. NerdGirl said,

    January 2, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Sizz: that sounds lovely.
    Cheek: thank you honey.

  4. Trée said,

    January 2, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Hear Hear! Here and Now, the crossroads of life. See you there Nerdy. 😀

  5. NerdGirl said,

    January 2, 2008 at 4:48 am

    T: yup, will see you there! Looking forward to our adventures …

  6. Shannon said,

    January 2, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Yuck. My New year started at work. Boo.
    I think the here and now is somewhere I need to focus on. I tend to either reflect on the past or imagine the future.
    Sigh.

  7. Autumn Storm said,

    January 2, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Well said. 🙂

    My day, M & I finally finished the last couple of bits for our homemade monopoly game. Smart cookie, my daughter, she took all the nice jobs, like colouring in, and I spent part of yesterday cutting out rectangles and writing £500, £100, £50,…, on either side of them. 😀

    Happy live for today Wednesday, xo

  8. prin said,

    January 2, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I’m at work. Boo from me too. 😀

    Those sound like good goals. 🙂 Take care of you.

  9. January 3, 2008 at 12:14 am

    Went to a friend’s New Years Day party yesterday and then to my wife’s aunt & uncle’s place near Boston last night. Got home today and back to work at my desk, but since I work at home, not so bad.

    You sound like you’ve figured out the New Year and have it “going on”- you go, Kelly!

  10. January 3, 2008 at 5:47 am

    sounds sweet. I started my year off by jumping into Lake Michigan. Woot!

  11. NerdGirl said,

    January 3, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Shannon: Yuck! What do you do that requires you to work on New Years Day?????? I thought for some reason you were a teacher??
    Autumn Storm: Homemade Monopoly game? That sounds brilliant! Take a pic for me and send it? I am curious!
    Prin: Thank you, I think they are good goals too! Being a mom, it is a hard thing to get used to, putting yourself first. Likely impossible!
    Colonel Colonel: Working from home? Nice. What do you do?
    dashofpanache: YOU.ARE.INSANE!!! Too freaking cold!!

  12. katelin said,

    January 3, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    happy 2008! what a lovely way to start off the year.

  13. miquiecrew said,

    January 5, 2008 at 12:00 am

    love the fact that you are going to take care of yourself this year. happy new year and i hope it turns out to be the way you want it to turn out.

    my new year stayed at home and enjoyed the warmth of the house …
    hope to hear from you soon …


Leave a Reply

