making an effort for my health

fruits-and-veggies.gif

Chico is on the way over to take me to the grocery store.

My goal this week is to cut down on sugar, to take a lunch to work everyday and to have breakfast at home everyday except Friday when I will treat myself to my beloved McGriddles from McDonalds!

I am going to fill my fridge with fruit, veggies, chicken and anything else I can stomach that is considered healthy  …  wish me luck blogland …  Eating sugar, McGriddles and buying food on the run are going to be hard habits to break.

I am willing to try because there is so much I want to do, see and experience in this big bad world and I am going to need lots more years in this body (and energy!) to be able to enjoy the adventures life has in store for me.

10 Comments

  1. Autumn Storm said,

    January 5, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Best of luck, Kelly. 🙂
    My contribution: A snack that I could munch on every day of the week, grate two red apples and a carrot and mix them.

  2. Trée said,

    January 5, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    You know, you are making it, almost, very hard to eat the rest of these potato chips right now. 😀

    All the best Nerdy. Tight and Taut. And work on those lunges. 😀

  3. sizzlesays said,

    January 5, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    sounds like a good plan. 🙂

  4. prin said,

    January 6, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Um. I’ve done the “grocery store wishful thinking diet” before… Didn’t turn out so well for me. lol

    Good luck to you. 🙂 May your will be more powerful than mine. 😀

  5. Airam said,

    January 6, 2008 at 5:11 am

    Having breakfast at home is something I need to get into the habit of as well. Having breakfast PERIOD actually.

  6. Keri said,

    January 6, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Those are some great goals!
    Wishing you luck on your healthy adventure!

  7. January 6, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    That’s a great project, can I offer a few tips I found made it easier to get to that goal myself?

    -start slow, maybe with one meal, like breakfast. I’ve really come to love a good bowl of Irish, steel-cut oatmeal prepared with frozen blueberries, raisins, chopped walnuts, cinammon and honey.

    -allow yourself some indulgences. I love chips. And cheese.

    -get a few books and try cooking Meditteranean style, which is healthy but also delicious and flavorful. Olive oil, for instance, is wonderful stuff that is healthy (as long as your not chugging it straight from the bottle). Work with almonds, walnuts, spices & herbs, etc., and put them on salads & veggies as well as the main course. Don’t like brocolli? I love my brocs, but Amy doesn’t, so I steam it to a tender but not washed-out consistency and then add some olive oil, salt, pepper, chopped walnuts and serve with a light grating of Asagio cheese.

    Sorry, I seem to have gone on awhile. Don’t mind me, I like this topic.

  8. NerdGirl said,

    January 6, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Autumn: That sounds like a heatlhy but sweet snack! Thanks. =)

    T: Lunge, potato chip, lunge, potato chip, lunge …

    Sizzle: Sounds good, some things sound easier than they are though!

    Prin: already wanting a McGriddle!

    Airam: Breakfast is my favourite meal, unfortunately not healthy breakfasts though!

    Keri: Thanks!

    Colonel: Thank you for your wonderful ideas… I love broccoli! Trouble is I like McGriddles more!

  9. kittenroar5 said,

    January 8, 2008 at 12:08 am

    My guilty breakfast is the taco stand by my school. Homemade tortillas with papas a la mexica. Nothing but carbs. MMM.

    Good luck on your journey!

  10. matt said,

    January 8, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Hope you have better luck than me. I’m a total failure.


Leave a Reply

