thanks mom

Mom + Kelly + skating faces from years past = tears.

Yes, tears.

I do not even know where to start.  If you are not or were not a skater, or not interested in the goings on in the world of figure skating this post may be a little boring for you.  But please indulge NerdGirl, this was a very special day for me.

As you know my mom, sister and I have spent the weekend at the Canadian Figure Skating Championships.  Like I said here, Canada has produced some amazing talents and my sister and I were lucky enough to have our mom treat us to this special event.  My mom and I both were competitive figure skaters in our teens.  It is something special we can share.  We are lucky my sister loves the sport too.

This young man made a huge impression on me yesterday.

 patrick-chan.jpg

Patick Chan skated his heart out.  He is seventeen.  Now the youngest men’s Canadian figure skating champ.

Well deserved.

Every move he made showed the love affair he has with the sport of Figure Skating, the love for the audience, and the connection he has with his blades on the ice.  His face showed a range of emotions that I followed at the edge of my seat.  The intensity of his training and the drive for the win showed through his body language, the expression on his face and the movement of his limbs.  I wish you had all been there with me.

Kurt Browning interviewed him today.  Patrick Chan came across as a humble young man.  His work ethic spills out of him.  He thinks outside the box.  He is forward thinking.  He sees the end of his program before he starts and knows what he wants to do with it.  He is a team player.  He wants to be successful at Worlds so that next year Canada can take three representatives with them instead of the two they did this year.  All this from a seventeen year old.  Just a baby… What sealed the deal for me was his comment as he watched on the screen a portion of his long program: “…to me it looks slow to me …”.

Slow?!  It just goes to show that even though a skater knows that he/she did it all correctly out there and that even though he or she knows that the judges appreciated the effort by the marks he/she received, and even though he/she can hear and feel the fans’ love … obviously a skater really doesn’t know how he or she makes me, as a fan, feel.  When this boy skated I clapped, I smiled, my bottom left my seat.  I felt tense before his jumps.  I felt his music, read his face and got goosebumps when it was over and his smile was as wide as the ice surface itself.  This boy obviously does not get what his gift does for a crowd.  That just makes him that much more adorable to me.

Today after some fantastic performances for the Senior Women’s long program, the competition portion of the weekend was over.  They cleaned the ice and surprised us with the induction of David Pelletier and Jamie Sale in the Skate Canada Hall of Fame.

If a pair of skaters ever deserved this honour, it is these two.  Read here about one of the hurdles they had to face in a long, amazing career.  These two are now married with a child.  Their ongoing story is worth a peek at.  Their dedication to the sport and each other is admirable.

Here is a great photo of the pair:

sale-and-pelletier.jpg 

At the end of the day after this presentation and the medal ceremony (Karen Magnussen was there!) it was time for fun!

All the medal winners came out to skate another program for fun.  With music of their choice, no rules and no judges.  Just us, the fans, to adore them.

And what a ride the young champions took us on.  There are some very creative young people in our country and they did a good job showing us their stuff.

To my great surprise (and immense pleasure) the dancing masters Shae-Lynn Bourne and Victor Krantz were the commentaters for the Parade of Champions.

shae-victor.jpg 

I love them (her!) and this was an unexpected surprise.  As the last skater finished (I got to see Patrick Chan again!), Shae-Lynn announced a very special couple were going to come out to perform.  Guess who?  David Pelletier and Jamie Sale!  My heart jumped in my throat and I looked at my mom …. both of us had tears in our eyes.  The performance was so moving.  Nothing but love emanating from those two.

At the end of their performance they talked Bourne and Krantz into showing off for us.  It was just too much.  I am filled up to the brim with emotion.

I cannot find the words to explain.

So, thanks mom.  It was an experience I won’t forget.

5 Comments

  1. sizzlesays said,

    January 21, 2008 at 3:14 am

    i don’t know much about figure skating but just reading this post gave me the chills. i am so glad you had such a wonderful time!

  2. prin said,

    January 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I love your passion. 🙂

  3. jlb said,

    January 22, 2008 at 12:28 am

    i get it. i got hooked when this kid named elvis took to the ice. different time, different style, same sense of magic.
    made me wish i could do more on the ice than land on my ass…oh hell, i don’t even get both feet on the ice, before i’m down… 🙂

  4. megan *the daughter* said,

    January 22, 2008 at 9:54 am

    i remember sale and pelletier from when i was younger, i watched them alot

  5. alan said,

    January 25, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Like any performance that comes from the heart, the medium doesn’t matter sometimes when it’s “right”!

    Glad you got to share this one!

    alan


Leave a Reply

