homebody

I find myself sometimes making excuses for my answer when someone asks “what are you doing tonight?” …

I like being home.  I look forward to very basic things.  I get pleasure from a quiet house, making myself a meal, writing in my blog, reading your blogs, going for a walk on the beach, cracking open a new book and cuddling with the cat.

No more excuses for why I haven’t made plans.  These simple pleasures are the things that make me happy.  I know these things do not sound exciting, or even fun, but I cherish my moments alone.  There is something about a calm quiet life that appeals to me.

My proud answer today:

Yes, I do have plans tonight.

With me.  =)

9 Comments

  1. sizzlesays said,

    March 12, 2008 at 3:36 am

    That’s awesome! I think I need to take one night that is JUST about me. No phone, no distractions. Good for you!

  2. Amber said,

    March 12, 2008 at 7:11 am

    I feel the same way.

    My family badgers me sometimes about my homebody ways, but I’m not changing anytime soon.

  3. NerdGirl said,

    March 12, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Sizzle: Good for you!

    Amber: homebodys unite!

  4. Shauna said,

    March 12, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    I love staying at home. I’d prefer that to wild nights 8 times of 10! 🙂
    I have no excuse. Just a dog to play with and some warm tea–TV free!

  5. katelin said,

    March 12, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I’m quite the homebody these days too, and it is fun. 🙂

  6. Lala* said,

    March 12, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    No excuses needed darlin.. You being happy in your self is what is paramount.. Yay you for being able to voice that 🙂

  7. alan said,

    March 12, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    “Together time” for us usually consists of watching TV, either series we’ve recorded or a movie. Nothing fancy, no expensive restaurants, just some time to share, laugh and love.

    People at work are betting that if I manage to retire she’ll be tired of having me on the same hours she’s on within 3 months.

    After 32 years I’d like to think not, but hope to find out!

    Thank you for your kind words when you visit! They mean so very much!

    alan

  8. prin said,

    March 12, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I agree. If we like spending time with you, why shouldn’t you?

  9. NerdGirl said,

    March 13, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Shauna! You stopped by! Thanks…

    Katelin: It does provide for a nice stress free life doesn’t it…

    Lala: I have got to get out to the hometown to see people… I really should have gone to the reunion! silly rabbit!

    Alan: Your life with your wife sounds just lovely.

    Prin: You always know what to say to make me smile. =)


Leave a Reply

