a game of what if?

Sizzle posted this today.  It got me thinking (I know, I know, what doesn’t right?)

Sizzle’s post made me think about her question – What if?

What if you could do anything you wanted?

Without regret?

Without limitations?

Without worry?

Without consequences?

What would you do if you had the freedom to do what you wanted?  Free from whatever restrictions you think or feel are holding you back?

My immediate answer to her was (in short) leave.  I would sell everything (I have nothing) and leave.  See the world.  Experience it all.  Feel the earth between my toes on the other side of the world.  See the people of the world.  Feel their emotions, experience their lives, listen to their dreams, listen to their struggles and feel their desires.  Taste it.  Everything.  All of it.  Everywhere.  gone.

Limitations:  Love my job, love my home.  Love my family, friends, kitten and life.

Other limitations:  Fear, (money? probably not an issue, it can be made along the way).  So fear I guess.

Fear of what: Regret?  Not really me.  I can be impulsive and try not to live with regrets.  What then?  What really stops any one of us from just doing what we want?  When you think of the people who are truly happy they are not the ones with ‘things’, they are the ones who ‘do’.  The people that are truly happy are the ones who decide what they want out of life and just DO it.  No ‘I WISH’.  They DO.

I need to think about this some more.  While I am off thinking  – tell me – What if?  Answer that question.  Don’t just lurk behind the scenes reading my blog, participate on this one.  I want to know what you would do.  Tell me your dreams, desires, needs and wants.  I want to know it all.  Do not hold back.  Do it anonymously if you have to (especially if the dream is a grand love affair that may or may not involve cheating! lol)… just do it.  You too mom, family and friends.  I want to know.

Enquiring minds (NerdGirl) wants to know.

Kisses

12 Comments

  1. March 19, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Hmmm. Truthfully, in this very moment if someone said “Do whatever you want to do right now with no thoughts of the future or what harm it would cause,” I’d be gone. I’d leave Boyfriend (to return to him of course) and MBA classes and my sucky job.
    I’d leave, skip the interviews and the time to think about it and join up with a service program (Teach for America/AmeriCorps/etc). I’d buy a one way ticket to California and wander around. I’d leave my phone at home. I’d trade my time for food and housing, listening to strangers talk about their problems and organizing their closets. I’d work my way into the personal grocery shopper position of a wealthy elderly person and sit outside cafes with “poet for hire” signs.

    Sigh. My problem is that I get this frustrated, stuck feeling every few weeks…

  2. prin said,

    March 19, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Yey! Nerdgirl’s comin’ to Montreal! WOO!

    Me? I’d move to the mountains. Sigh. They’re my home and I don’t live in them. S’up with that?

  3. March 20, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Anything? Spend my summers in Verona or Florence. Write more. Give up sleeping.

  4. NerdGirl said,

    March 20, 2008 at 8:38 am

    blogofherown: our plans sound very similar!

    Prin: lol, I would leave Canada! Although I would love to see Montreal someday!

    Colonel: Give up sleeping? NOT. Sleep MORE, that’s a better idea! =)

  5. katelin said,

    March 20, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Your answer reminds me of “Into the Wild” and the need to just live free, it would be amazing.

    My What If would definitely be to up and move as well and try a new culture where they didn’t speak English, I just think that would be so amazing even for a short period of time.

  6. 'tink' said,

    March 20, 2008 at 11:51 am

    See it before I leave it!

    ~Tink

  7. sizzlesays said,

    March 20, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I’d quit my desk job to start my own business. I’d live more simply. With less stuff.

    The job is really the thing that feels most limiting right now.

  8. Keri said,

    March 20, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I’d find her, take her & keep her – always. Without fear.

  9. jlb said,

    March 21, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    u reached into my heart and said my “waht if” out loud ….i’ve thought about it…lots…

    what is holding me back? i’d like to say inertia….and habit…but it’s fear, fear of what could happen if i let go of the anchors that hold me to here and now (my job, my family, my friends)….

    j.

  10. Autumn Storm said,

    March 30, 2008 at 8:05 am

    Travel too, just as you described,. I start with the Americas, connect with as many people as possible, see all those beautiful sights that I have only seen in photographs..would be bliss. Reason I don’t, my daughter, simple as. She wants to be exactly where she is and so with luck I will get a chance to do so later, or explore in bits.

  11. sarah said,

    June 29, 2008 at 12:01 am

    i would abandon all pretenses and risk being loved.

  12. Rocky said,

    August 6, 2008 at 8:10 am

    I’m the kind of person that just dose it. Love what your doing. Rock


Leave a Reply

