detox, sunburns and peppermint

On my walk home from work tonight I found myself walking into a store I usually avoid.  Saje.

I suffer from frequent, sometimes debilitating headaches that seem to go hand in hand with certain smells, especially perfume.  As a result I usually avoid stores with scent.  Today I found myself in Saje laughing with a cute salesgirl and handing over my bank card for this,  and this.  And of course a cute diffuser from Thailand to diffuse that wonderful peppermint smell throughout my house!

I know what you are thinking – NerdGirl got taken in by a cute girl with a pretty smile!  Nope.  Not at all. Really!  I have faith that there is something to this natural healing.  We will see.   Then you can all say, I told you so!

Quick question blogland – have any of you tried one of those topical detox kits?  They apparently draw toxins from your body through the pads of your feet while you sleep.  I would love to know (good or bad) how it worked out for you.

Oh yes, let’s not forget the sunburn part of today’s blog entry.  My friend BigHair just got home from her vacation in Belize.  She sent me some pictures, one of which is sunburned boobs… and then says I cannot post the boob pic!  Arg.  No fun!

Here is one of the boring ones instead:

1.jpg 

You have to admit she is pretty cute – even without the boob shot! =)

One more thing and then I will let you all go – remember when I said that my childhood friend Angela was coming for a visit ?  Well here is a pic of the two of us… try and ignore NerdGirl’s three chins!

angela-and-i.jpg

I’ve known Angela since we were kids.  But as often happens as adults, we move to other cities, marry, have children and grow apart.  I haven’t seen her in years.  She hasn’t aged one second.

The minute I sat down with Ang it felt like we had never been apart!

And last, but not least.  Thank you for lunch MHM

11 Comments

  1. sizzle said,

    March 25, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    3 chins? Where!?

    You’re gorgeous.

  2. March 26, 2008 at 12:08 am

    cute…but wait until you are a bit older before you start worrying about a “third chin”!

    cheers,
    pj

  3. alan said,

    March 26, 2008 at 1:18 am

    I don’t see three chins, darling, only two very lovely girls!

    And yes, our friend is beautiful as well! I envy her that sunburn! (and with my skin, I shouldn’t!)

    “I’ve Got a Secret” is an old game show I remember from my childhood. Along with “What’s My Line” it is running between 2 and 3AM on the “Gameshow Network”. The last time they were on I recorded and watched each episode, and am doing the same again, as they are such a delight!

    It has been reconstituted several times through the years, but none have quite the magic of Garry Moore and the original!

    alan

  4. March 26, 2008 at 4:00 am

    I’m with them, all I see is one cute chin. I’m a bit of a skeptic about things that “draw” toxins out, but I also use a salt ‘crystal’ deodorant since I’m apparently allergic to most of the chemicals they put in ‘regular’ deodorants, so I’m not one to judge.

    Peppermint and other herbs do have medicinal qualities, though, so I’d not be surprised at all if the scents were useful as well. Many of the mints are calming, including catnip and bee balm, from which you can make tea.

  5. March 26, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Hello there,

    Thank you for the comments on my blog. I think you will love the footpads I ended up using two boxes, don’t be alarmed if the color stays black they are still working. Did you buy the nebulizer? I use mine every night with either the sleepwell or goddess oil blends, when we are under the weather I use the immune blend. Have you ever tried any natural paths to help with your headaches? Let me know if can help or you have any questions.

    Have a great sunny vancouver day.

    Peace
    Hazel

  6. katelin said,

    March 26, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    oh love the new layout. and cute pics! i don’t know what chins you are talking about 🙂

  7. prin said,

    March 26, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Goh-jis. 🙂

    I find kid friends are like that. I think it’s because when you’re so little, you’re just a core of a person without the bags and boundaries and through the years, that core never changes. It just gets covered up some.

  8. mycowgirlalterego said,

    March 26, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I think we should all get taken by a cute girl once in a while!

    You guys are too cute! You look gorgeous!

  9. jlb said,

    March 26, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    i know what you said, but i do think it was the cute girl with a smile that really convinced you… 🙂
    j.

  10. NerdGirl said,

    March 27, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Alll of you are blind as bats or very very kind to deny the second and third chins exist! And this is why I love you all!

  11. December 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    в итоге: отлично!


Leave a Reply

