decorating advice

Am having my bachelor suite painted tomorrow.

Need some advice from blogworld.

My livingroom/bedroom living space is quite large and has old hardwood floors and big bright windows.  The space, which is quite large, houses my bed which has a dark brown wood headboard, a large Ikea dark brown almost black bookcase and a dark brown leather couch as the main pieces.  The kitchen (which you can see from the living area is also being painted.  The flooring is linoleum with black and white squares.  the countertops are gray, black and white (speckled).  I currently have light flowey cotton red curtains hung in the kitchen (this can be changed).

Sounds easy?  Nope, cannot decide.

I want a colour that is warm but clean.

Ideas? 

4 Comments

  1. ocb said,

    June 13, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    what about a sand or coffee color..not dark, more on the light side but warm. It is hard to say without actually seeing you know? lol

  2. Syd said,

    June 14, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I *so* want to give you a smartassy answer, but I am horrible at decorating. My brain is cramping, just thinking about it.

  3. NerdGirl said,

    June 14, 2008 at 10:48 am

    come on … give me the smartassy answer. You know that is what I want anyways!!!!

  4. Lisa said,

    June 15, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hi,
    I have a similar setup, I did the walls in Ecru with white around the doorways and cornices. It’s a very warm colour. I like neutral in the walls so I can change my mind with the furnishings when I get sick of the colours. I used this, I’m sure there is something similar that you can use. Have fun!

    For the kicthen, I did just plain white, it’s pretty striking, although I don’t have many walls in there.
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

