a little setback

Good morning blogworld.

Thursday night I had a little setback in my health.  Nothing like last year – but enough to frighten me.  I am feeling a little bit ‘off’.  I cannot find another word to describe it.  I can just tell my brain isn’t firing quite right.  When I woke up Friday morning I was still feeling this way and by the time I got to work I was really not myself and knew it – I knew I needed to take action – I worked too hard last year to fight the defection of my brain to let it slip into control again.

I am not about to backslide now when my life is so good.  Im a fighter.

Decision: 

  1. Call in the troops.  Mom, Chico, boss.
  2. Make Dr. appointment (Monday).
  3. Cancel weekend plans that suddenly felt like obligations rather than fun.

I called mom to let her know what is going on.  Tough to do but necessary.  I struggle with worrying her but know that if I decide I need her over the weekend that she will be out to visit in a heartbeat.  That, in itself, is calming.  Yes, I know, I am lucky.  I then made a doctor appointment to check on the med situation and to talk about how I am feeling.  Knowing I get to see Dr. T. on Monday is very reassuring – he is a very important member of ‘team Kelly’.  I then emailed Chico to let him know what is going on and let my wonderful boss know I wasn’t feeling quite right.  I cancelled all my plans for the weekend (other than the painting!).  I feel the need for some ‘me’ time to sort out how I feel about my brain betraying me.  Cancelling the plays was kind of a bummer, but the right thing to do under the circumstances.

Chico is coming over tonight for a visit.  We are going to walk Junior, get some food, and relax in my freshly painted bachelorette pad.  He is going through a life changing time right now and just hanging together will be good for both of us.

So as you can see I am doing everything I am supposed to do.  This means it will work itself out.  I am confident of that.

So, this morning I got up and took Junior for his walk.  We ended up side by side on a local breakfast restaurant patio with the newspaper, sourdough toast and oatmeal!  Somewhat healthier than the usual McDonalds breakfast.  Hey – Im willing to try anything. 

We then went to pick out the paint at the local little neighbourhood hardware store as my painters are coming this afternoon.  I have posted below pictures of the two colours I bought.  Im not sure this accurately reflects the shades – they are more gray than purple and darker. 

Main Paint Colour – Alley  Cat:

Secondary Paint Colour – Flannel Pajamas:

 

I will post a picture when the painters leave today. 

I hope you are all doing well.  Thanks for your ‘ear’.

7 Comments

  1. alan said,

    June 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

    That you realize what’s going on puts you so far ahead of us mere mortals!

    There are times I feel I sabotage myself at every turn…

    Know that my heart and my thoughts are for you through whatever comes your way!

    alan

  2. NerdGirl said,

    June 14, 2008 at 10:47 am

    thank you alan. that means a lot to me.

  3. ocb said,

    June 14, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    hang in there girl..let me know if I can do anything.

  4. Trée said,

    June 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I know the feeling. You can see it coming, feel it like an approaching fog and about as helpless to stop it. If I could hold your hand I would, But you would have to hold mine too.

  5. prin said,

    June 14, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Yey sexy! I’m glad you’re fighting. You’re awesome, really, and there’s no reason that I can see of why you shouldn’t be able to conquer the world and get everything you dream of.

    Just a bump in the road…

    And if it isn’t, I’m usually around, even if it looks like I’m not. 😉

  6. sizzle said,

    June 14, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I’m glad you reached out. It’ll get better! And also glad to hear Chico is back.

    xo

  7. katelin said,

    June 16, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    hope you’re doing okay and glad you have people nearby to help you out.


Leave a Reply

