and we are back to regular programming …

Dear friends:

I need you. I admit it.  I’m willing to beg for your help.

You win.  You offered many times and I said no, no. Thanks anyways, I can do it myself.  Especially you Mr. Handsome Daniel.  You hounded me to come over and hook it up.  But I said nope.  Repeatedly.  So especially to you I admit out loud – I suck.  I am electronically challenged.

October 5,

note this date for two reasons:

  1. So you can be sure to buy me something fantastic; and
  2. because the date will mean something by the end of this post.

Continuing… October 5, was my 39th birthday.  My mom and stepfather Keith bought me a dvd recorder.  My old dvd player had kicked the bucket and I was suddenly spending three days a week at the arena and no one wanted Nerdy to miss her favourite shows.  My world would have crumbled and mom and Keith knew it!  =)

I was so excited to get that thing home and get it hooked up.  Unfortunately I was stupid enough to say:

  • no, I can do it!
  • of course I can!
  • nope, thanks for the offer but I got it; and
  • various other variations to turn down help setting it up!

Dumb.

Now (December 3 – see, a very long time has passed) I have given up.  For all of you that offered please please come make this work for me.  I have tried everything.  Everything.

It seemed like a monkey could have hooked this damned thing up.  Red plug in the red hole, yellow plug in the yellow hole and the white plug etcetera etcetera … I mean geez, I switched teams and managed that with some finesse, this should’ve been a pre-requisite dont you think?  (Sorry, Nerdy’s still being a little naughty)

I was so impressed with myself to start with.  The clicker to my t.v. wasn’t working properly so I went out and bought myself one of those universal remotes and managed to program that (and then managed to unprogram it somehow (gah!)) yet I still cannot play a movie in my dvd player let alone tackle the daunting idea of programming it to record Coronation Street!

So please.  Please.  Pretty please come over and hook this damn thing up before all my cheesy shows are lost forever!

I beg you.

Thanks I am done.  the begging part of this episode has come to a close.  Let the teasing begin.  I can take it.

4 Comments

  1. jo said,

    December 3, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    aha….i new you cheated on the technology hook-up part of the exam before you switched teams…. 🙂

    wish i could help, but hopefully it’ll be done before i’m next in town…

  2. Thursday said,

    December 3, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Whoever you get to hook this beastie up, if it’s a guy, make sure you leave the room while he tries. That way he doesn’t have the constant distraction of being Posture Man!!! and can sneak a quick read of the instruction book.

    Trust me: if you’re there, that booklet doesn’t get opened. Don’t bother asking me how I know this.

  3. Syd said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I’ve had one for 2 years that I’ve never hooked up. (not for lack of trying)

    Time for us to turn in our dyke cards.

  4. alan said,

    December 7, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Would that you were next door instead of next country…

    Not that they always cooperate no matter who is “behind the curtain”!

    alan


Leave a Reply

