The Persistence of Yellow

Longtime readers know I took a break from work, the world, my life and friends last year.  Months actually.  I have been back at work just over a year now.

While off work I made some big changes and some subtle changes.  I wanted to take advantage of the life I am blessed with.  I wanted to give back to the people I love and I wanted to look after myself and my community more.  Somewhere along the way, I forgot some of the things I learned.

Negativity can seep in.  Like any other bad habit negativity can sneak up on you and make you look at things different than they really are.  It is a matter of changing your thinking.  I did a lot of that this year.  Training my brain to look at situations differently.  Sometimes I failed, and sometimes the brilliance of it shone through.  It does work.  Granted, life is hard but sometimes I make it harder than it needs to be. 

I’ve slipped a little in the last month.  Like any other bad habit you need to keep reworking it.  Learn.  Try. Encourage yourself.  I am reminded to do these things – for myself.  I am better for everyone around me when I look after myself.

Here is a snippet that I re-read today.  A snippet from The Persistence of Yellow – a gift from a wise friend.  The date on the jacket cover is November 2007.

Here are two passages that I wanted to share.

Once upon a time, a girl prayed for true love.

Her prayer was answered.  She learned to love herself.

And:

He offered her the world.

She said she had her own.

6 Comments

  1. jo said,

    December 20, 2008 at 8:12 am

    two of my favorite!… 🙂

  2. Thursday said,

    December 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I do love the second! Fortunately, I also married it… 8)

  3. sizzlesays said,

    December 22, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Love both of those quotes.

  4. finn644 said,

    December 23, 2008 at 10:47 am

    that’s beautiful

    given what life has thrown at me and my family this year these words have never been more true

  5. alan said,

    December 24, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    You figured out that part about negativity so much younger than I did! It’s no wonder; you really are brilliant!

    Thank you for a year of smiles and learning and beauty!

    Thank you for sharing your life with me!

    alan

  6. Lindsey said,

    January 11, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I had to write down that quote.

    It’s one of those that…after you read it, there is a resounding silence…while the truth and weight of it sinks in.

    Thanks for sharing it. Hope you had a good Christmas. My New Years resolution was to try to be less of a recluse. :o)


Leave a Reply

