Samy

Blessed…

I have friends.

Good ones.

Tonight Samy showed up to stay with me for the weekend.  She moved to Calgary about a year ago.  Before she left we bonded over a similar experience.  A tough experience.  When she left Vancouver my journey was already partially taken.  Her journey just starting.  She got out of the car tonight outside of my building and we hugged – two new women.   Women who have grown, worked, hurt, felt and came out the other end better than ever…

I was on my way to bed when Samy came to grab my spare set of keys.  She was on her way out for a little bit of Vancouver fun!  As she dropped off her suitcases and did a ten minute pre-catch up, she left she did two special things for me.

Both of which I will never forget.

1. She gave me a piece of herself.  She has become a successful artist and she brought a piece of her art for me.  A piece of herself really.  The woman in the picture is amazing.  I asked who she was.  She said a little me and a little you

Tears.

Good tears.  I tried to take a picture of her, this beauty, this creation of Samy’s.  My camera cannot do it justice so I wont post it here.  If it cannot be seen in its true glory, then it wont be seen. 

2. I moved into a little bachelor suite over a year ago.  To live by the ocean and walking distance from work I gave up a lot of things.  Walls without paint chipping, modern appliances, new floors and clean that looks clean.  It was worth it to me.  I love my suite.  It is my haven.  My haven by the ocean.  My haven with my furry family.  I love it.  Everything in it feels like home.

Samy walked in and said “I love it.  It is so Zen.”

She got it.  The feeling I wanted from my home. 

Peace.

And she got it before she saw the humungous picture of Buddha on my wall!

7 Comments

  1. me said,

    February 6, 2009 at 7:13 am

    nice…..

  2. sizzlesays said,

    February 6, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Having a Zen-like resting space is so important. Glad you have that and good friends to share it with.

  3. CJ said,

    February 6, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I am glad you were given a piece of happiness! You deserve it!

  4. NerdGirl said,

    February 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Sizzle: I MISS YOU! I wish I had more time to blog! I am going to go visit your place in a bit! Cannot wait to see what you’ve been up to!

    CJ: Long time no speak. Im going to go check out your place too!

  5. Prin said,

    February 10, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I love it when you blog long descriptive posts. They rock my world. 🙂

  6. NerdGirl said,

    February 10, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    thank you Prin!

  7. alan said,

    February 11, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Why would it surprise someone so amazingly wonderful themself to find someone else amazing as a friend? Quite a few of them, actually!

    Sometimes I think you forget the fantastic person you are…

    alan


Leave a Reply

